Best Cheese Slicer

The 10 Best Cheese Slicer Reviews in 2021

Cutting cheese is an art that not a lot of us can master. If you have once tried slicing cheese and it ended up crumbling, you are not alone!

Fortunately, with a cheese slicer, things will be a lot easier on your end. If you think that you can use just any kitchen knife, you are completely wrong! An ordinary knife does not come with a blade that is right for cheese, especially if it is delicate. Just as you would cut meats without the right meat slicer, you shouldn’t cut cheese without the right cheese slicer.

In this post, we’ll explore some of the best cheese slicers on the market, the types and benefits of a great cheese slicer, and some tips to slicing cheese. Let’s get started!

What are the Benefits of Cheese Slicers?

If you are still not convinced that a cheese slicer is one of the best kitchen tools to have, here are some of its benefits that might make you look for one in an instant:

Consistent Cuts: One of the best things about a cheese slicer is that the outcomes will be consistent. The thickness or thinness of the slices will be even.

Presentable: If you have to display cheese slices in a store or in a buffet table, a slicer will be a good investment. This makes cheese look more appealing as it makes clean cuts.

Save Time: Another good reason to use a cheese slicer is to save time, as well as effort. This is especially the case if you have to do the cheese cutting and slicing often.

What are the Types of Cheese Slicers?

As you start your search for the best cheese slicers, one of the first things that you have to know would be the different types that are available. By being familiar with these types, it will be easier to decide which one is most suitable for your needs. Depending on the type of cheese and the slice you desire, you might be better suited with a rotary cheese grater.

Cheese Plane: This type comes with a downward slicing blade with a sharp edge and a flat surface. The blade that slices the cheese looks like a plane, which is why it is named as such. These slicers are better for harder and semi-hard cuts of cheeses.

Rolling Cheese Slicer: As the name implies, it comes with a roller that is attached to a parallel wire. The stainless steel wire is replaceable, so there is no need to worry even if you break it.

Board Cheese Slicer: This is the biggest from the three and also the most elegant when it comes to appearance. It has a board as a base, usually made of wood, stainless steel, or marble. There is a handle and a wire. The board can also double as a serving plate for the cheese. When purchasing a wire cheese slicer, you’ll want to ensure the quality of the wire. Cheaper cheese slicers will often have wire breaks and need to be replaced  

Essential Considerations when Looking for Best Cheese Slicer

As you try to come up with a purchase decision, here are some of the most important things that you need to consider:

Ease of Use: It is important to pick one that is as user-friendly as possible so that slicing cheese will not be a dreaded task. For instance, it should be lightweight, especially if you will use it frequently. You’ll also want to consider the thickness of the cheese you are slicing when choosing which slicer is best. Because thicker cheese can be more difficult to slice, you’ll want a cheese slicer capable. 

Handle: This is one of the most important parts of the cheese slicer. Wood, plastic, and rubber are the common materials that are used. More than just the aesthetics, it also needs to have an ergonomic design do that you will not complain of discomfort. The handle should also be slip-resistant.

Blade: If the cheese slicer has a blade, such as for the plane type, see to it that the blade remains sharp, which will allow it to glide smoothly on the different types of cheeses. It should also resist rust and corrosion. Because hard cheeses can be more difficult to cut, the quality of the blade is essential. To find the best cheese slicer, you need a slicer with a high-quality blade. 

Wire: On the other hand, if you have a wire cutter cheese slicer, it should also be made of durable material, usually stainless steel. A good choice would be stainless steel, which is sharp enough to cut on many types of cheeses. Some of the best cheese slicers will come with free replacement wires.

Adjustability: It will also be good to choose one that will allow you to make adjustments on how thick or thin the slices will be. You must be able to adjust the cuts as preferred, which you can usually just do by changing the angle at which you slice.

Size: The overall size of the cheese slicer should be considered. A larger cheese slicer might be more difficult to handle and make the perfect cut, so you’ll want to choose a cheese slicer that suits your use.

Safety: You also have to pay attention to the safety features of the cheese slicer. A non-slip handle is one of the best ways to make sure that you will slice the cheese and not cut your finger. If you have a cutting board cheese slicer, the bottom should have a rubber base so that it won’t slip.

Ease of Cleaning: Care and maintenance of the cheese slicer should also be effortless on your end. Regardless of which one you choose, make sure that it is well-maintained so that you can expect its peak performance all the time.

Durability: To enjoy the best value for money, see to it that it is made of durable and long-lasting materials. Even after years of use, the slicer should still deliver superior functionality.

Warranty: The standard warranty offered by most manufacturers is one year. The best would be one that comes with a lifetime warranty against defects and breakage, which should provide you with peace of mind.

Reviews: If you still find it hard to decide what cheese slicer is the best, you can go online and read reviews, such as this post. It will make it easier to narrow down the possibilities that you are confronted with.

Top 10 Cheese Slicers

ProductType of SlicerConstructionRating 
Fox Run Marble Cheese SlicerBoard SlicerMarbleA+
Prodyne Metal/Wood Cheese SlicerBoard SlicerWood & Stainless SteelA+
Westmark Germany Multipurpose Stainless SteelBoard SlicerPlasticA-
Bjorklund Cheese SlicerHandheldWood & Stainless SteelA
Bellemain Adjustable Thickness Cheese SlicerRolling SlicerStainless SteelB+
Westmark Germany Heavy-Duty Stainless Steel Wire Cheese SlicerRolling SlicerStainless SteelB+
OXO Good Grips Wire Cheese SlicerRolling Slicer
Plastic & Stainless Steel

B+
Prodyne 805B Cheese SlicerBoard SlicerWood & Stainless SteelB+
Norpro Heavy-Duty Adjustable Cheese SlicerRolling SlicerStainless SteelB
Kitchen Basix Cheese Plane and SlicerHandheldPlastic & Stainless SteelB

Our Top Picks for the Best Cheese Slicers in 2021

Below are some of the best cheese slicers perfect for any type of cheese! These items are rating on a variety of qualities including quality, price, design, and more.

1. Fox Run Marble Cheese Slicer with 2 Replacement Wires

Best Design
Fox Run Marble Cheese Slicer with 2 Replacement Wires
$25.19
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/20/2021 05:14 pm GMT

This cheese slicer stands out from the rest because of its excellent appearance. Featuring a marble base and 3 pound weight, this slicer screams quality. It has rubber feet that help to keep your slicer in place and deter sliding.

It includes multiple stainless steel replacement wires, which is a bonus for any board cheese slicer.

This slicer must be hand washed given its marble construction but it can also be used as a serving board. 

What I love:

  • The best design of all cheese slicers
  • Great adjustability

What I didn’t like:

  • Price is slightly high
  • Must be hand washed
My Overall Rating:

2. Prodyne Metal/Wood Cheese Slicer

Editor's Choice
Prodyne Metal/Wood Cheese Slicer
$24.99
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/20/2021 05:16 pm GMT

This Prodyne Metal & Wood Cheese Slicer is the perfect option to suit any type cheese. It features a quality build with both stainless steel and wood components. This cheese slicer weighs 1.1 pounds – eluding to its quality. 

It comes with a lifetime warranty against wire breakage speaking to its quality. 

Because of the design of this cheese slicer, your cuts can easily be adjusted for any size thickness. 

What I love:

  • Great quality slicer with lifetime wire warranty
  • Superb design

What I didn’t like:

  • Price is slightly high
My Overall Rating:

3. Westmark Germany Multipurpose Stainless Steel Cheese and Food Slicer

Westmark Germany Multipurpose Stainless Steel Cheese and Food Slicer
$28.49
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/21/2021 07:55 am GMT

This Westmark cheese slicer is a great option because of its versatility. Not only can it cut cheese, but it can also be used to slice other common foods. It features a stainless steel build manufactured in Germany with a 5-year warranty – ensuring its quality. 

The slicer includes an adjustable dial to adjust the thickness of each slice. It is easy to clean and weighs less than 1 pound.

This cheese slicer is capable of handling any type of cheese from soft to hard. It features a sharp stainless steel adjustable blade.

What I love:

  • Great quality slicer with 5-year warranty
  • Easily adjustable for any size slices

What I didn’t like:

  • Would prefer a wood or steel board
My Overall Rating:

4. Bjorklund Cheese Slicer

Cheese Slicer for Thin Slices & Semi Soft Semi Hard Cheese
$6.99
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/20/2021 05:15 pm GMT

The simplicity of this cheese slicer is one thing that got our attention. It has no bells and whistles, which is also the reason why it is affordable and easy to use.

The part that slices the cheese is made of durable stainless steel. The handle, on the other hand, is a premium wood that provides excellent contrast. The wooden handle has a contoured shape so that it will be comfortable for you to hold.

This is a product made by a Norwegian company that has been around since 1925, providing you with the confidence that its quality will indeed be hard to match.

What I love:

  • Easy to clean
  • Flexible blade
  • Simple design

What I didn’t like:

  • No warranty information
My Overall Rating:

5. Bellemain Adjustable Thickness Cheese Slicer

Best Value
Bellemain Adjustable Thickness Cheese Slicer
$10.00
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/20/2021 05:15 pm GMT

Kitchen tools do not need to be expensive to demonstrate exceptional quality. This is one product that proves such assertion.

With this wire cutter, you will have complete control of how it is used as it is adjustable. Even for paper-thin slices, you can do so in a manner that is almost effortless.

The one-piece solid construction is also a plus, which ensures its durability. The body is made of solid-case zinc alloy that delivers superior strength, guaranteeing its functionality for many years.

To provide even better value for money, even if it is affordable, the package is already inclusive of two cutting wires made of durable stainless steel.

This product is covered by a comprehensive one-year warranty from the manufacturer.

What I love:

  • Very affordable
  • Easy to use

What I didn’t like:

  • Only a 1-year warranty
  • Limited adjustability
My Overall Rating:

6. Westmark Germany Heavy-Duty Stainless Steel Wire Cheese Slicer

Westmark Germany Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Wire Cheese Slicer
$12.99
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/21/2021 06:03 am GMT

One of the best things about this cheese slicer is its price. It is one of the most affordable you can find, making it the perfect fit for budget-conscious buyers.

To be confident about the durability of this product, it is good to know that it is made in Germany and by a company that is known as one of the global leaders in kitchenware. The handle is made of cast aluminum while the roller and the wire are made of high-quality stainless steel.

This is an angle-adjustable cheeses slicer. All that you have to do is change the angle at which you hold the ergonomic handle to change the level of thickness at which it cuts.

Lastly, to provide you with peace of mind, the manufacturer is offering a five-year limited warranty. If you are not happy with the slicer, you will get an unconditional refund!

What I love:

  • Easy to use
  • Quality construction
  • 5-year warranty

What I didn’t like:

  • Lacking adjustability
My Overall Rating:

7. OXO Good Grips Wire Cheese Slicer

OXO Cheese Slicer with Replaceable Wires
$15.99
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/21/2021 10:28 am GMT

Whether it is for thick of thin cheeses, slicing with the use of this product will be a snap. The stainless steel wire is the one that is responsible for such. The wire can be conveniently positioned and there is also a tensioning wheel. With the latter, you can tighten or loosen the wire depending on what you prefer.

The main material that is used in this cheese slicer is die-cast zinc, which is both lightweight and durable.

The handle has an ergonomic design, making it easy and comfortable to hold.

There are also two replacement wires that are included in this set.

What I love:

  • Multiple replacement wires
  • Quality construction

What I didn’t like:

  • Lacks adjustability
My Overall Rating:

8. Prodyne 805B Cheese Slicer

Prodyne Thick Beechwood Cheese Slicer
$15.23
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/21/2021 08:45 am GMT

The manner by which this works is different from the products that have been mentioned above. It has a board that is made of beechwood, which looks appealing. On the side, there is a slicing arm and a handle grip. The wire cutter, on the other hand, is made of stainless steel.

The non-slip base is also a plus. Regardless of the pressure that is exerted when cutting the cheese, you can be sure that the board will remain stable.

To make you convinced that this is an excellent choice for a cheese slicer, it comes with a lifetime warranty against breakage. This is more than enough to guarantee your satisfaction.

What I love:

  • Quality wood design
  • Extremely adjustable

What I didn’t like:

  • Not as durable as the matching wood and metal version 
My Overall Rating:

9. Norpro Heavy-Duty Adjustable Cheese Slicer

Norpro Heavy Duty Adjustable Cheese Slicer
$9.38
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/20/2021 05:16 pm GMT

The handle and the blade of this cheese slicer are made of high-quality zinc alloy, which is excellent in terms of durability. They will last long without requiring too much care and maintenance on your end.

The cutting wire, on the other hand, is made of stainless steel. There is an extra wire included in the kit.

It is also user-friendly, making it easy for you to adjust the thinness or the thickness of the slices that will be made.

It is also compact and portable, which makes it easy to handle as well. It won’t consume too much space in the cabinet when it is not used.

What I love:

  • Easy to use
  • Comes with additional wire

What I didn’t like:

  • Lacking adjustability
My Overall Rating:

10. Kitchen Basix Cheese Plane and Slicer

K Basix Cheese Slicer Stainless Steel
$9.99
Check Price
We earn a commission if you click this link and make a purchase at no additional cost to you.
06/20/2021 05:13 pm GMT

Another impressive option that is budget-friendly, this plane and slicer will work on any type of cheeses. Whether it is cheddar or blue cheese, slicing will not require too much on your end.

The cheese plane is made of premium stainless steel, providing you with the confidence that it is going to withstand several years of use. It has a mirror-like and glossy finish that gives it an elegant look. It can also resist rust and stain.

The handle, on the other hand, is made of thick but soft rubber. It fits perfectly in your hand and will not cause any discomfort.

Lastly, it comes with a lifetime warranty from the manufacturer. Purchasing this product is risk-free as you can get your money back if you are unhappy with it.

What I love:

  • Easy to use and clean
  • Affordable
  • Lifetime warranty

What I didn’t like:

  • Rubber handle
  • Low quality feel
My Overall Rating:

Tips for Slicing Cheese the Right Way

It helps to have the right slicer. For the best cheese slices, here are some of the most important things that you have to keep in mind:

  • Before using the cheese slicer, make sure that it is clean. Dirt, oil, and bacteria, among others, will negatively affect the quality of your cheese, specifically the taste.
  • Pay attention to the type of cheese. Take note that different types of cheeses will require different slices. If you have a hard cheese, cut it lengthwise to form rectangular blocks. Triangular cheese should be cut rectangularly. For round cheese, start by cutting the whole cheese into a quarter then half.
  • It will also be best to wait until the cheese reaches room temperature before you slice it. This way, it will become softer and slicing will be a lot easier.
  • Cut slowly but surely. Follow a single and fluid motion.

Final Thoughts on the Best Cheese Slicers

When deciding which cheese slicer you should purchase, you’ll want to consider more than just the price. Quality, ease of use, and versatility should all be examined before making your purchase. You’ll also want to consider the warranty that is included with your purchase. Our favorite overall cheese slicer is the Westmark Germany Multipurpose Stainless Steel Cheese and Food Slicer because of it’s versatility.